Oh. My. Dog! #38

Posted: February 12, 2017 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

“Thank you, Ken.” A slight smile appeared on her face as she planted a kiss on my cheek. The rain stopped as if on cue, and the sun shimmered through the clouds. The day was no longer dull when we headed back to the station.

We didn’t talk much on the train, it wasn’t necessary. Bud watched the landscape, visibly enjoying the journey. Until – shortly before reaching York – he pricked his ears, staring at something only he could see. He was subtly growling.

“Bud?!”

He turned away from the window, sadness in his eyes. When we got off the train, he pushed us toward a bus station. We sat on the bench, and Bud laid his paw on my knee.
“No way!” I couldn’t believe my eyes. This was horrific.

Bud repeated the exercise and Lynx immediately grabbed my hand. “Ken! You need to tell Mr Cairns immediately!

My fingers trembled as I hit the dial button.

“Mr Cairns, this is urgent – a car just went into the Ouse! Bud just showed us.”

“Where exactly?”

Lynx took my phone.

“You know that old barn by the bend of road, the one hidden from view? Right there, give or take a few!”

Leave a Reply

