Oh. My. Dog! #34

Posted: October 16, 2016 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

Have you ever come across a gardening geek?”

Lynx looked surprised. “Except gardeners? No. Besides, I cannot imagine a gardener applying surveillance devices for plants. This would rather be a nerd with botanical interests.”

Right! Mrs Cairns told me about a ‘friend’ looking for me.”

Lynx was thunderstruck. “Why didn’t you tell me before?”

Bud laid his paw on her knee as I admitted that it had simply slipped from my mind.

I’ve seen him on campus, James something. He hardly ever talks, doesn’t seem to socialize at all. I’ve seen him watching you, though.”

Lynx and Bud held eye contact, she smiled. “I knew you were special, Bud.”

If there was really a camera, he might have overheard Mrs Cairns and wouldn’t dare to return.

Lynx interrupted my musings. “James seems horribly shy. He surely doesn’t want to do any harm. I am going to have a little chat with him.”

We agreed that I had better stay away.

Two days later, Lynx carefully approached James after the last lecture. “I could kill for a coffee. Would you like to join me?”

At the Costa, it became obvious that Lynx had been right: James was shy and very lonely.

Comments
  1. macjam47 says:

    I look forward to reading these little snippets. I can never guess what’s coming next.

Leave a Reply

