Oh. My. Dog! #30

Posted: May 29, 2016 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

‘The Ghost Gardener of York’ – this headline might have fitted the yellow press, not our reputable regional newspaper. Inwardly shaking my head, I kept on reading. For several months, someone had solved local hobby gardeners’ issues by nocturnal visits to their gardens. The home owners were mostly thrilled. ‘My orchids never really grew, they seemed limp, then, one day they were relocated, other plants planted next to them. Now they are my pride and joy….’ – ‘My apples used to be attacked by parasites. One morning, there were some odd screens; the apples grew and were delicious…’

The stories went on. Some hobby gardeners had even started a forum. I followed the link. There was more praise and – the question who this ghostly gardener might be. Some had set up photo traps – to no avail.

This makes sense, Bud. As their gardening issues were solved, there was no need to return.”

Bud glanced up and laid his paw on my knee.

I saw a dimly lit alley and a dark-clad figure squeezing through a hedge.

That’s not much to go on, Bud. These clothes offer no clue regarding gender or age. My educated guess is that it’s done with best intentions.”

Leave a Reply

