Oh. My. Dog! #29

Posted: April 30, 2016 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

Her words were still ringing in my ears as I took a step forward.

What do you mean by tampered with, Mrs Cairns?”

The rosebush has been turned by about 90°.”

How do you know that?”

Smiling sadly, she indicated a branch. “You see this strange dent, Ken. It was previously facing the footpath.”

I was confused. Why would someone dig out a rosebush, turn it, the carefully set it back into the ground? Mrs Cairns’ voice interrupted my musings. “Last night I had the strangest dream,” she whispered.

I actually handed Bud a rose and he happily carried it away.”

She looked me in the eyes – all serious, stating “I would never hand a thorny or poisonous plant to a kid or an animal, Ken. Never.”

I know that, Mrs Cairns.”

+++ +++ +++

I filled Bud’s bowl. Having lost my appetite, I decided on doing some research. Why were we all dreaming weird stuff? And what about this creepy rose? There were thousands of websites on dreams and roses, nothing that seemed believable came even close to our situation. I opted for giving up my research; deciding on checking the news instead. A headline caught my eyes: ‘The Ghost Gardener of York’

Comments
  1. The most of women (if not all of them) use to dislike thorny roses. Also, the tasteless cakes. Throughout the web, nothing new on roses or dreams. Love is a meaningless word out from mouths of the most.

    “The mouth speaks what overflows in the Heart”. Some hearts are plenty of vacuum and made up from stones. Unfortunately.

    Good job, Karen! 😀

    • Karen says:

      Thank you, Ebrael.
      ‘Every rose has its thorn…’ A rose breeder like my fictional Mrs Cairns would never breed thorn-less roses; they’d consider it a valuable defense-mechanism.
      Ken’s ‘research’ regarding dreams about roses results in what you mention. Disappointing for him as it does not give a hint why three people have a similar dream.

      • Symbols are universal, and Rose is one of them. Dreams are such like mirrors between us and the colective images floating in Ether. But, guess it’s matter for further issue. 😀 Thanx for replying.

  2. Lynn Thaler says:

    I enjoyed your blog. Cool post!

  3. macjam47 says:

    The Ghost Gardener of York could be the reason the rose bush was turned around. Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

