Oh. My. Dog! #27

Posted: February 21, 2016 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

I had nearly reached Lynx when she looked up, smiling warmly. “Ken, I was-”

My heart did a double-take, my brain went mushy; stammering something like ‘Hurry, Prof Darmody, class’ made me want to kick myself.

Lynx got up. “Darmody is never on time for the first class of the day. They tolerate it – he is inspiring, taking his students to the top levels.”

I felt myself relax a little.

“I had the oddest dream this morning. I was sitting here as usual; Bud appeared, carrying a peach-coloured rose. He offered me the rose and laid his paw on my knee. Then I saw you running in my direction – right as you just did. Then my alarm rang. When I got here, I saw this rose lying on the bench.”

I gulped. It was a beautiful rose, a rare shade of peach – Mrs Cairns’ pride and joy. How did the rose get on that bench?! The door and windows were always locked, Bud couldn’t or – could he?

“It was a sweet dream, Ken. Bud is so cute. And I really hoped to see you today.”

Changing the subject she grabbed her stuff, “Let’s begin the tutoring!”

Comments
  1. mihrank says:

    this is beautifully written Karen. This was my favorite line ” Lynx got up. “Darmody is never on time for the first class of the day. They tolerate it – he is inspiring, taking his students to the top levels.”

  2. davidprosser says:

    Beautifully written Karen.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  3. macjam47 says:

    Hmmm. How did he get the rose?

Leave a Reply

