Oh. My. Dog! #26

Posted: January 24, 2016 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

We kept Mrs Cairns company until her husband returned. He offered a tired smile and slightly squeezed my shoulder.

+++ +++ +++

I rushed through the garden for my first lesson of the day. On a bench ahead was Lynx, no longer sporting rainbow coloured hair, it was ginger instead. She was reading in a thick book, chewing on a text marker. I had nearly reached her when she looked up, smiling warmly. “Ken, I was-”

The alarm rang. I woke with a start. Bud trotted over to my side, laying his paw on my knee. “Bud, no! You must be kidding! You can actually see my dreams?!”

I staggered to the shower.

After getting dressed, I walked over to Bud. Cuddling his ears, I apologised for my shouting and a paw-handshake settled everything. We walked over to the Cairns; breakfast and coffee was entertaining and I left for university in a real good mood. Riding my bicycle in the crisp morning air was refreshing. One road was closed – also for cyclists – and I had to take a detour. Locking my bicycle I realised I was running late.

I rushed through the garden for my first lesson of the day. On a bench ahead was Lynx…

Comments

Leave a Reply

