Oh. My. Dog! #19

Posted: August 2, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

The table from last time was already taken by a couple. They were chatting about their visit to the National Railway Museum. A cream-coloured Labrador Retriever – apparently a guide dog – was calmly lying at the man’s feet.

When the drinks came, there was only one water bowl for the dogs. One look at them confirmed it wasn’t going to be a problem. After lapping some water, Bud and the guide dog seemed to engage in silent communication.

Sipping my Ghost Ale, I admired the beautiful dogs. The guide dog’s name tag read “Dino”. He had the same gentle eyes as Bud, the same careful movements. Like Bud, his aura promised security.

I wondered whether Dino’s owners would allow me to take a photo of the dogs when a hand landed on my shoulder. “Hi!”

Looking up, I nearly drowned in the greenest eyes imaginable. “Hi Lynx.”

I just received an odd call. Trish was taken in for questioning. The police seem to think she bolted from here because she saw a bad guy – here!”

I wouldn’t know. I didn’t meet Trish and her aunt wasn’t overly friendly – I handed her the bag and left.”

 


 

Today’s episode is dedicated to Dino,
beloved four-legged family member and my brother-in-law’s guide dog of many years.

RIP, Dino. ❤

Comments
  1. Janice Wald says:

    Hi Karen,
    Thank you for coming to my site today. I’m glad you liked the Blog Party. Are you sure you didn’t want to leave a link? I am writing wondering if you are Karen O. If yes, I will send you an invitation to join our Pinterest group board.
    Janice
    PS So sorry to hear about the dog’s passing

    • Karen says:

      Hi Janice.

      Thank you for the reminder. A wasp came in – too close for comfort – I panicked and just hit the button.
      And yes, I am indeed Karen O.
      Thank you, Janice. Dino was a great dog.

  2. trentpmcd says:

    Four-legged family members are great. Sorry about Dino.

  3. They certainly take hold of our hearts and never let go…

  4. The dedication is pretty cool. Sounds like a special animal.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much, Craig. Dino was very special to all of us.
      To become a guide dog, many tests need to be passed. Of utmost importance: the character traits…

Leave a Reply

