Oh. My. Dog! #14

Posted: June 7, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

I grabbed my phone. Why hadn’t I put Mr. Cairns’ number on speed-dial? Furious with myself, I fixated the bag under the table.

“It won’t budge – even if you were a prime hypnotist – no chance!” I jumped. A girl with rainbow coloured short hair slammed a new pint in front of me. “Here’s another Ghost Ale for you – on the house. Drink, then be a pet and take the bag to its owner!”

I sat in stunned silence, watching her walk to the table and grab the glass and the bag. She returned, placing the bag on the bench and fondling Bud’s ears. “Good dog! You’ll find Trish’s home easily: Turn left, then right into Coffee Yard, left into Grape Lane. Knock on the green door with the brass lion. Tell her aunt that I sent you.”

She retreated to the bar, joining her colleague to handle the increasing number of orders for ale and whiskey.

After finishing my second Ghost Ale, I needed to visit the gents. On my way back to Bud, I was grabbed, pinned to the wall and – kissed. My knees wobbled. “I’m Lynx,” she told me. “I just couldn’t help it.”

Comments
  1. Rosa V says:

    what a charming turn in this chapter, my dear! I really love the persons you have introduced so far, including Bud of course. They all seem to be a selection of beautiful souls. From all of them, I’d like to get to know Mr. and Mrs. Cairns more. Now, having had a private night dance, your story from the beginning to the end and a wonderful piece of apple crumble pie from my sister, I should finally hope for somewhat three hours of sleep – nevertheless looking forward to seeing you tomorrow 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much, my friend. There will certainly more about Mr. and Mrs. Cairns.
      The apple crumble was hopefully comforting and relaxing enough for a few hours with pleasant dreams.
      I am looking forward to reading and/or hearing more feedback. 🙂

  2. Randstein says:

    Great scene! I laughed out loud at Lynx’s sudden introduction. Bud certainly has his paws full keeping things together. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much, Daniel. 😀
      I hope that Lynx doesn’t have a real counterpart in The Yorkshire Terrier. This would be a coincidence. The Ghost Ale is real though; it is delicious.

      • Randstein says:

        I must find some Ghost Ale if we have it here. It goes very well with the story 🙂

Leave a Reply

