Freestyle Writing Challenge

Posted: May 31, 2015 in On Writing
Tags:

My friend and fellow blogger Yinglan (https://yzhengblog.wordpress.com/) tagged me to take part in the Freestyle Writing Challenge, and – I obviously accept the challenge. Thank you so much for thinking of me, Yinglan!

The rules for the challenge:

  1. Open a blank Document
  2. Set a stop watch or your mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you prefer.
  3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
  4. Once you start writing do not stop until the alarm sounds!
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write with correct spelling and grammar.)
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals.
  7. At the end of your post write down “# of words = ____” to give an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
  8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers)
Yinglan’s topic: DOG OR CAT FOR A PET? WHY?Cat_dog

We share our flat with two cats. I can hear you sighing something along the line “Oh gosh, cat persons!” Despite our feline cohabitants, we could never be categorised as cat persons. We also have the greatest respect for other animals. We could imagine one or two dogs in our lives as well, sure. This would be highly unfair toward them due to our full-time jobs. Now you know: We have a clear conscience and respect a creature’s needs.

Let’s begin with cats: Cats are free-minded spirits who do not mind being left alone for some hours; they doze, eat, play. As soon as you open the door, they insist on being greeted, fed, snuggled or – occasionally left alone. As long as you observe their needs, everything is fine.

About dogs: Dogs are less inclined to pass their days in solitude; they need company, their humans are an important part of their lives. As we could not spend enough time with (our) canines, we just dream of having the opportunity to sharing our lives with dogs as well – at a later date.

You see, our cohabitants of choice need to be felines; I would consider it as an unnecessary lack of respect to leave my dog(s) alone for hours; canines need company to be happy. At least there is a fictional dog in my life: Bud, star of my “Oh. My. Dog!” series.

# of words:  235
Time:  10 minutes


I would like to pass on the challenge to:

Jack – http://jackflacco.com/

Ali – http://aliisaacstoryteller.com/

Andy – http://christiangrandfather.com/

Karen – https://karensoutar.wordpress.com/

Daniel – https://hyperionsturm.wordpress.com/

Shehanne – https://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/

Craig – https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/

 

Do you accept my challenge, my friends?  :mrgreen:

If yes, this is your topic:

LIVING IN THE CITY OR IN THE COUNTRY? WHY?

[vacations do not count, just everyday life]

Comments
  1. […] was nominated by Karen of the blog ‘In a Small Compass‘ to take part in this writing challenge. This was an interesting one, because there is no […]

  2. Maxima says:

    I like this post Have nice day . with love maxima

  3. Ali Isaac says:

    Well done! This is a hard challenge but fun! Funny, I have a dog, and am very fond of him, but would rather have cats!!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much, Ali. Who knows, some day you’ll also have cats – in addition to your wonderful dog.
      I’ll be thrilled about what you come up with – if you accept my challenge.

  4. Randstein says:

    Thank you for sharing this challenge Karen. I thought you did an excellent job. I may only get out a sentence in that time. Hopefully it will be a good sentence 🙂 When I get some breathing space next week I’ll see what pops out of these fingertips in record time 🙂

    • Karen says:

      You are welcome, Daniel. It depends on the topic, sometimes I wouldn’t really get that far.
      There is no rush. Whenever you find the time, I’ll be a keen reader. 🙂

  5. Nice job. I would accept, but I just completed it when someone else tagged me.

  6. Yinglan says:

    Great response and after reading your response, I have a feeling I am a cat person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

