Blog Tour Award!

Posted: April 6, 2015 in Award
Tags: ,

Last week, Yinglan Zheng over at https://yzhengblog.wordpress.com/ honoured me by nominating this humble blog of mine for the Blog Tour Award! I didn’t even know this award existed, thank you very much for considering my blog, Yinglan!  😀

Blog_Tour_Award

The Rules:
  1. Compose a one-time post on a specific Monday (date given from your nomination — I and/or my blog post was scheduled for April 6, 2015).
  2. Give your nominees the rules and a specific Monday to post by – dear nominees, this will obviously be Monday April 13, 2015.
  3. Pass the tour on up to four other bloggers.
  4. Answer four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do.
The Questions:
WHAT ARE YOU WORKING ON AT THE MOMENT?

I’m currently working on the flash fiction series “Oh. My. Dog!” It is a story about British student Ken and his new canine friend Bud, a black Labrador Retriever. Bud is full of mischief, loves playing in the mud and — has a very special gift.

Whenever inspiration strikes, there will be another short story as well.

Due to my full-time job and the obvious lack of time, two novellas are currently on ice. For one of them I’m using Scrivener, for the other one I discovered ywriter, another fine freeware tool.

HOW DOES YOUR WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS IN YOUR GENRE?

You might say my work is different as I do not really have one specific genre. On the other hand, most writers do not confine themselves to strictly one genre. We all are writers who love to write, the only difference is that we are all individual personalities. I preferably write stories with a plot line in the here and now, with a hint of the supernatural. As I like to play with styles and scenarios, there will always be many exceptions to the rule.

WHY DO YOU WRITE OR CREATE WHAT YOU DO?

As you have probably read in my ’10 Statements’, I am inspired by nearly everything. The slogan “I’m a writer. Everything you say or do may be used in a story.” is not that far-fetched. 😉

To make sure that I do not lose the inspiring snippets of inspiration, I always have my little black book and/or my Galaxy A5 at hand. I love to see how a story develops on my computer screen, how the bits and pieces come together, forming a complete story to be read.

Another very important reason for my writing is obvious: I love reading. One of the rooms in our flat is filled with thousands of books, I’ve got two E-readers (also filled to the brim); to make a long story short: I’m hooked on reading.

HOW DOES YOUR WRITING/CREATIVE PROCESS WORK?

Depending on the urgency and kind of the inspiration, I begin a story within  a time range of an hour until a month. In case of flash fiction prompts, it is required to start writing right away. My “Neighbors!” series (American spelling due to the location) originated from a picture of two mailboxes in the desert and the necessity to integrate an unpaid bill. I loved that prompt, showed this flash fiction on this blog as well. One of my loyal readers commented she’d like to know more — therefore I decided to let this be the start of a flash fiction series.

The shorter a work needs to be, the more difficult it is to handle. Thankfully I love a challenge. Once the idea is born, I develop the story step by step – without planning long ahead. Especially the flash fiction series needs to surprise me as much as my readers. There is always an odd bit of inspiration that lingers for a time until being integrated into the story.

Short stories are usually not written in one session. The advantage in this case: There was an initial inspiration, followed by research, writing the first part, being inspired a second time, finishing the story. Example: “Potatoes at the Museum” — When visiting the National Railway Museum in York, we came across a train with a slight mist around the locomotive. It was indoors, there was no reason for this mist. I took several photos of the “Spinner”, read the information on the train — especially the one about the chef’s ordering new supplies. After returning from our journey, I did some research. About two weeks later, I had another inspiration in my dream. I started writing this story the very next day, hitting the “Publish” button 36 hours later.

A friend asked me once for an alternative ending of a story (“The Blue Window”). Another interesting challenge that also benefited from — a dream.

Proofreading is the last step of my editing process. Sometimes I have to do it myself, sometimes a friend of mine does. In case of an overlooked typo, I’ll hopefully eliminate it as quick as lightning.

The Nominees:

Drum rolls, please!  :mrgreen:

Trent’s World (the Blog)

Coffee n’ Notes

Harvesting Hecate

The Happy Typewriter


I am certainly not the only one looking forward to getting to know your creative process!

+++ Thank you. +++

Comments
  1. […] nominated for my very first award on Hyperion Sturm, The Blog Tour Award, from Karen over at In A Small Compass.  Karen writes short stories on a variety of subjects inspired by, “hobbies, favourite […]

  2. Hi Karen! Very interesting to read about your working style and your current work in progress. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Vashti! Thank you. My creative process has to adapt to job related reasons. Two years from now it might have changed as well (hopefully thanks to having more time for writing).

  3. Randstein says:

    Congrats! I enjoyed reading your answers to the questions 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much. As presumably not all of my nominees are going to participate – please accept my nomination for the upcoming Monday. 🙂

      • Randstein says:

        Thank you Karen! I accept and will dig around in my dusty brain for something appropriate for the occasion 🙂

      • Karen says:

        Great! I’m looking forward to getting to know your creative process! 🙂

      • Randstein says:

        Hi Karen! Just wanted to let you know that my Blog Tour Award acceptance will post Sunday 12 April at 6:00pm U.S. Central time and the one-time post will go out on Monday 13 April at 05:00am U.S. Central time. Thank you for including me in your celebration I hope you enjoy my response and post. Now – off to notify my nominees 🙂

      • Karen says:

        Awesome – thanks a lot!
        It was the right thing to do – including you in this celebration.
        Looking forward to reading about your creative process. 🙂

      • Randstein says:

        I finally confessed all the work is done by my head elves and I just do the typing. 🙂

  4. What a nice look at your creative process. Thank you for sharing it.

  5. Dennis says:

    Congratulations Karen.

  6. Karen says:

    Reblogged this on My train of thoughts on… and commented:

    My short story and flash fiction blog “In a Small Compass” has received the “Blog Tour Award!” on creative writing! 😀

  7. trentpmcd says:

    Thanks for the nomination! I typically don’t do awards, but we’ll see. Perhaps I’ll come up with something for next Monday.

Leave a Reply

