Oh. My. Dog! #8

Posted: March 26, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

Still dumbfounded, I got up. “Let’s go to the Cairns, it’s breakfast time!” I locked the door before heading over. Mrs. Cairns opened the door. She looked worried. Her husband was on the phone, frantically scribbling on a notepad.

Mrs. Cairns tugged my sleeve, urging me to follow her to the kitchen. The breakfast table was set for three, and I inhaled the delicious smells of freshly baked scones and rich coffee.

“Please help yourself, Ken,” Mrs. Cairns was startled as her husband stomped in.

She handed him a mug. He accepted it gratefully, gulped it down, knowing it would be refilled in no time. Mr. Cairns finally sat down and grabbed some toast, buttering it generously. He must have felt our questioning glances. “A girl has been abducted, ransom has been demanded – right on our doorstep! They want the money at noon! They threatened to kill her!”

Bud had listened attentively. He left my side, trotted over to Mr. Cairns and – laid his paw on his knee. Mr. Cairns nearly choked on his toast. “What?!”

He looked at me, “What does that mean?”

I shrugged. “Perhaps the only chance to find her in time.”

“Let’s go!”

Comments
  1. Randstein says:

    I love an intense story that leaves me smiling. Bud’s got it right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

