Oh. My. Dog! #7

Posted: March 12, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

We jogged past families at the playground, cyclists and joggers on the paths, some flowerbeds and a pond, then the way lead us along a rivulet with dense copse on either riverside. I glanced at my watch, deciding to jog round the gargantuan tree and head back home. I didn’t notice Bud stopping short and sniffing for a nanosecond.

With nightfall, the park cleared. Bud and I were among the last to leave.

Finally home, I opted for watching a comedy on TV instead of perusing my university welcome package. I was too exhausted to really care for the show and called it a night.

Next morning, I skipped jogging. Checking the local news on my laptop, I came across the headline ‘Witnesses needed’. The accident we had avoided on our way to York was shadowed by the abduction of a teenager from one of the cars involved. Ransom had been demanded, the police were looking for clues. “This is unbelievable, Bud!” Bud laid his paw on my knee and I glimpsed the tear-stained face of a girl in a striped shirt in the copse of a rivulet. I was dumbfounded. “Bud, how?” Looking straight at me, he offered me a silent bark.

Leave a Reply

