Oh. My. Dog! #5

Posted: February 28, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

The three weeks until our move to York consisted of packing and repacking. My mother insisted on my getting a haircut and some new clothes. I was counting the hours until setting off.

The car was filled to the brim, traffic was moderate for a Saturday morning. Rain set in, slowing us down. “There seem to be two possibilities to get to the Cairns’ house.”

I glanced at my tablet. Bud laid his paw on my knee. A fleeting impression of an accident made me opt for turning right. “We should turn right!”

Twenty minutes later we pulled up in front of the Cairns’ house. It was in nice little street, my parents didn’t have much time to admire it as Mr. Cairns had stepped out of a door to the right, walking over to us at a brisk pace.

His welcome was friendly and brisk. He smiled as Bud offered him his paw. Then he helped us carry our stuff into our new home. I immediately warmed to that place. Mr. Cairns handed me a key. We headed next door to meet Mrs. Cairns who had prepared coffee and cake. She even had something for Bud. Again he impressed everyone with his good manners.

Leave a Reply

