Oh. My. Dog! #3

Posted: February 22, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

After my mother had been ushered inside by her best friend, I knelt in front of Bud. He laid his right paw on my knee and I had a fleeting glimpse of the flowerbed. I gently rubbed his ears. “Let’s go check that flowerbed!”

We jogged to the garden. Apart from some paw prints, the flowerbed looked fine. I carefully raked the soil with my fingers. My mother wouldn’t have a reason for complaint.

We returned to the house. I washed my hands and retreated to my room to continue my search for accommodation in York. It wasn’t easy – students were welcome, so were dogs. The combination of student and dog seemed to be quite impossible. I scrolled down, absent-mindedly massaging Bud’s ear. Suddenly he sat straight and laid his paw on my knee. There was a photo of an old house on the outskirts of town, offering a one-room flat with separate entrance, kitchenette, bathroom and the hint that pets were welcome. I doubted that a dog of Bud’s size still counted as pet, dialling the indicated number anyway. Mrs. Cairns asked lots of questions about me, my studies and about Bud, promising to call back after consulting with her husband.

Several minutes later, my phone rang.

Comments
  1. lanihouston says:

    I can’t wait for the next installment!! 🐶🐶🐶🐶

Leave a Reply

