Oh. My. Dog! #2

Posted: February 15, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,

“Hi Buddy,” I knelt and shook his paw.

“Incredible – this is a good sign!” Mrs. Dorning shook her head in awe.

“He’s never done that before! And his name is indeed Bud.”

Nobody could deny the connection. My mother looked a little unhappy about the dirt, though. Mrs. Dorning smiled. “Bud – bath!”

Bud trotted over to the garden hose, picked it up and carried it over to me. “Good boy!” I opened the valve and hosed him down. The instant I closed the valve he started shaking himself dry.

“What about smaller animals, we have some cats – is he…?”

“Don’t you worry, Mrs. Winters. Bud is a carer, not a hunter.”

My father winked at me and turned to Mrs. Dorning to handle the paperwork. Bud’s birthday was the same as mine.

We headed home.

Sunday was my mother’s birthday and lots of friends stopped by – bringing flowers and hoping to grab a bite of cake.

Bud had watched the greeting ceremonies for a while, then vanished. Now he trotted around the corner carrying a yellow tulip in his muzzle. Wagging, he sat down in front of her. My mother nearly fainted, worrying about her flowerbeds.

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    There’s more to come about Bud, Luanne. 🙂

  2. Luanne says:

    What a cute dog! Aw, bringing her a present!

Leave a Reply

