Oh. My. Dog!

Posted: February 8, 2015 in Flash Fiction, Oh. My. Dog!
Tags: , ,
Image courtesy of Victor Habbick at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Victor Habbick at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

When I announced having been accepted by the University of York, my mother insisted on getting me a dog. She and my dad didn’t want me to be all alone in ‘the big city’ as they called it.

My protests like ‘Have you ever heard of a student with a dog?’ were dismissed. One Saturday in late spring we drove to the shelter. It was a converted farm with lots of space for numerous animals, from harvest mouse to stock bull. Mrs. Dorning greeted us warmly and asked her assistants to get the dogs. She briefly explained the shelter’s concept, then asked us to follow her. Excited yapping greeted us in front of the kennels. Dogs of all sizes, more or less groomed eagerly waited to be chosen.

“What do you think – who is your favourite, dear?” I shrugged, these seemed to be nice dogs – but I couldn’t imagine any of them in my company when running or riding my bicycle. My mother was disappointed, about to lecture me, when a black Labrador trotted round the corner and yawned. He was muddy, the look he gave me full of mischief. He approached me, sat and offered his right front paw.

Comments
  1. macjam47 says:

    You had me at black lab – done deal!

Leave a Reply

