FF: Neighbors! #38

Posted: November 12, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

My phone rang. I grabbed the receiver. “Sheriff Burrell!”

“This is Tara Taylor. Kayla asked me to call you.”

“Thanks, Mrs. Taylor. I need to know why you left Funderburk & Hardin, the country, etc.”

“Sheriff, I was in a very abusive relationship. I saved money, changed my name and co-founded the company. I loved my new life until I nearly ran into my husband’s best friend. When O-wen came to pay his bill, during a major power outage, I seized the opportunity to pocket his money. O-wen didn’t have a clue. I drove to the airport in a frenzy. Took the first available flight and – landed in France. Two days later, I had a new name and a new job. I never looked back. When Kayla told me about your enquiry, I decided to wire Dan Hardin O-wen’s money. He received it and – that’s it. Calling you was my last activity regarding my old life.”

Leave a Reply

