FF: Neighbors! #31

Posted: September 13, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

Kayla’s lover was a British movie director – she had every right to be at the Cannes Film Festival. I sensed a partial breakthrough, grabbed my phone to dial and – was distracted by agitated voices at reception. I looked up to see fire inspector Richards stomping towards my desk.

“Phil, good to see you!” I extended my hand in greeting.

Phil only grunted. He normally resembled Balou, now he rather seemed like a grizzly bear in blood frenzy.

“Jim, two hours ago, a phone at a crime scene was called from your meeting room phone. Tell me why you disconnected without answer!”

“We were following a lead,” I answered tiredly.

“My team is working on a case with too many loose ends. This number let us hope to solve at least one of many riddles.”

“Do you know whose phone it is, Jim?”

I shook my head. “This is what we hoped to find out.”

Leave a Reply

