FF: Neighbors! #27

Posted: August 20, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

“Funny,“ the dispatch officer declared. “This number ends with my birth year.“

This confirmed my suspicion. Only Steve was meant to contact someone. Who? It could be O-wen, the fake Bobbi, or someone else entirely.

I sprinted back to my desk. “Steve, let’s go to the meeting room. You need to call that number, and we can record the call on that phone.”

Steve gulped visibly. “Is this really necessary? It could be a prank, don’t you think?”

“This is serious, Steve. The number is meant to be called by you,” I hoarsely whispered.

Steve got up and we headed to the meeting room. I locked the door from the inside. Steve’s hands shook as he tried to open a water bottle. I took the bottle, opened it, and handed it back. Even my hands felt clammy as I prepared the phone for the recording.

I nodded, Steve started dialing, we waited, listening to the ringing signal.

Comments

Leave a Reply

