FF: Neighbors! #24

Posted: August 5, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

I was thunderstruck. “You heard O-wen’s voice?!”

“It sounded like his voice. Perhaps I imagined that. This and the card made me get my stuff and hurry back to town.”

“Your car broke down half way. – Tony, has the garage already worked on it?”

“No. It wasn’t a high priority.”

“We need to find out if it has been tampered with, Tony!”

“Hold your horses, Jim. I have dispatch send someone over.”

I turned back to Steve. “Where is that card – you still have it?”

Steve nodded. “It’s in a desk drawer at home.”

Approaching dust clouds announced the ambulance and John’s assistant and her colleague. John was carefully transferred on the stretcher, the ambulance sped off. The CSI duo dusted and photographed John’s truck, measured distances, and signaled that we could take it with us while they busied themselves in collecting evidence within the trailer remains.

Tony got in the truck, Steve and I returned to my SUV.

Leave a Reply

