FF: Neighbors! #23

Posted: August 3, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: ,

We got out of the car. Tony went around the hood, waving us over. John lay partly under his truck, one of his feet seemed nastily twisted. I bent down, taking his wrist. “He’s got a pulse!”

Tony called dispatch for an ambulance and John’s assistant to collect evidence. Steve and I carefully pulled John out from under his truck. There was dried blood on his right temple, and traces of vomit on his chin. “Concussion, broken ankle – if the trailer exploded, the detonation wave may have thrown him several feet.”

“This may be true, Tony. Why should Steve’s trailer explode? John might have tripped and collided with his car.”

“Or someone might have blown my trailer up, Jim.”

I looked Steve in the eyes. “Why?!”

“When I collected my stuff, I considered torching it down. I heard O-wen’s voice, and had a business card in the mail. It read: ‘Call me’. Which I never did.”

Comments
  1. mlleviridis says:

    We want the next episode 😀

  2. Topaz says:

    Uh oh. Something sinister’s afoot… 😉

Leave a Reply

