FF: Neighbors! #20

Posted: July 21, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

I felt renewed after seven hours of undisturbed sleep, prepared myself for the day. The fridge was empty, the last banana was gobbled down in seconds, no coffee. I grimaced and went to the door. The smell of freshly brewed coffee wafted through the air. I sniffed with pleasure and walked over to Steve’s door. I knocked. Steve opened, a coffee mug in his hand. He saw me gazing at the mug and grinned.

“Come in, Jim. Have a cuppa.”

I followed him to the kitchen, grabbed a huge mug and poured coffee to the brim. Steve pushed a plate and a knife my way, so I helped myself to a bagel and cream cheese.

At the station, I opened a thick envelope from Dave Hardin. In it his and Bobbi’s contract – including a photo. I was taken aback.

“Who is she?” Tony asked.

“This – is Bobbi Funderburk.”

I dialed the lab. No answer. John had not returned.

Leave a Reply

