FF: Neighbors! #14

Posted: July 3, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

John rushed over to collect Bobbi Funderburk’s samples. He lifted an eyebrow, I nodded, sending him back to his lab in a hurry.

Steve looked dumbfounded. “Top priority.”

Having explained this, I registered Steve’s trolley and almost smiled. “You return to Whitelyn for good? There is a vacancy right next to my apartment!”

“I can’t afford it, Jim. I haven’t got any references, no job, and my car ran out of gas in the middle of nowhere.”

“I vouch for you, Steve. And you’ll find a job in no time.”

I asked him for the car keys, learned they were in the ignition, and instructed Steve to buy some pink and red flowers and a box of fine chocolates for the landlady. He left and I immediately dialed Celina Hogg’s number, telling her that my brother-in-law was on his way to rent the furnished apartment.

Getting Steve back on his feet was way better than thinking about this strange case.

Comments
  1. prior says:

    well I may not be able to find out what happens – but you are a good writer – 🙂 Have a nice summer. ~y.

  2. I’m following. 🙂

  3. I want to know what happens next!

Leave a Reply

