FF: Neighbors! #7

Posted: June 9, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

We ordered the day’s special and a pitcher of water. Steve didn’t seem to mind. Apparently he didn’t need alcohol when he had company. The food arrived and we tucked into our plates. While finishing the water, we talked about our next steps.

“What about O-Y’s mail?”

I looked at him in utter shock. “You mean…”

Steve shrugged and dropped the bomb. “His mailbox is still there.”

I was mad at myself. How could I have forgotten to check? I couldn’t really have been that sidetracked by my almost brother-in-law’s alcoholism, right? I absent-mindedly pulled some dollar bills from my pocket to settle the check.

On our way out we stepped aside to let two women in. “Thank you, Jim!”

I automatically smiled, and headed out, already texting John to have his gear ready in the morning.

“Hey, they were giving you the eye – and you didn’t even look at them?”

 

Leave a Reply

