FF: Neighbors! #6

Posted: June 6, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

A look at my watch confirmed what my grumbling stomach had indicated: It was time to call it a day. I downed the last drops of coffee and placed the mug between the others on my desk. Dispatch status promised a quiet evening. A message from Tony popped up. The picture showed a stunning woman. I looked up. Tony drew a question mark in the air. I nodded in reply and he hit the button to load the image in the system. If she was an actress or a model, we would have some results in the morning. I locked my computer and went over to Tony and Steve.

“Dinner? My treat!”

Tony declined politely, Steve nodded. “I’m in, Jim.”

Having dinner in Whitelyn was easy – there were only two restaurants. The Corner Café was rather fancy, so we opted for Mason’s.

It was Trudy’s shift. She greeted us with a smile and indicated my usual table.

 

Comments
  1. I like your crisp, hard-boiled style of writing, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you, Carol. This FF series started as a simple Friday challenge, someone wanted more – and now I really want more as well. The style feels right to me as well. 🙂

      • Isn’t it funny, Karen, how projects come to us without even having planned them ahead. Those are the best. They’re like surprises from the Universe. We just have to be open to them.
        That the style feels right to you means it is right. 🙂

      • Karen says:

        Thank you very much, Carol. Some characters and or projects develop in an enjoyable way. It is a great experience to have something brief and productive to publish while some bigger projects are slowly developed in the background. 🙂

Leave a Reply

