FF: Neighbors! #2

Posted: May 29, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Neighbors!
Tags: , ,

The paper threatened to flow away. I hastily fumbled an evidence bag out of my pocket. Lacking gloves – as usual – my hanky had to make do. I carefully grabbed the paper and bagged it.

“Jim! That’s my neighbor – in the nudes!”

Steve burped and scratched his belly. I looked at him with disgust. He had been a successful business man until a woman broke his heart. My sister Kayla was beautiful, witty, and – destructive like a hurricane. Thanks to Kayla, the whole town considered Steve part of my family.

“I’ve gotta have this checked, Steve. You should take a shower, I need you at the station for your statement.”

I walked back to the car, not knowing what to make of all this. Behind me I heard Steve shuffling back to his trailer. I couldn’t remember ever having seen him that pathetic.

“Bye, Steve! See ya at the station!”

 

Comments
  1. Topaz says:

    How interesting! I think you have a flair for flash fiction, Karen – the subtext in this piece speaks more loudly than the actual writing, which is very difficult to pull off as spectacularly as you have. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you, Topaz! The initial part started as a joyful contribution to Flash! Fiction. Then I liked the idea, now there will be more episodes. 🙂

  2. Interesting, Karen..Flash fiction is so difficult because you have only so many words to say what you mean…The unsaid in your piece is clear and to me, that’s what makes it work. 🙂 .

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much, Carol!
      #1 of Neighbors! was due to Flash! Fiction Friday, a faithful reader wanted to know more, and – I decided to give it a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

