The House (Flash Fiction)

Posted: May 19, 2014 in Flash Fiction, Reblogged

Today I just have to share Karen Soutar’s Flash Fiction “The House” with you. Enjoy!

Karen Soutar

Haven’t shared much fiction lately, so here’s a bite-size bit of creepiness. I wrote this for a flash fiction competition. I didn’t win a prize, but on reflection I did a bit of tweaking, and here it is for your delectation. The piece was to be exactly 400 words (which it still is).

The House

Pic courtesy of urbanghostmedia.com Pic courtesy of urbanghostmedia.com

Empty, they say. Abandoned. Unsafe. It’s been that way for so long no-one remembers when The House was last in use.

That’s the only name I’ve heard for the old theatre. I’ve checked town records. The library, newspapers – even the chatter of the internet is silent on the subject.

I, too, am empty and unsafe. Soon I will crumble – although no-one can see it.

The whiskered, whiskyed gents outside the pub are flattered to speak to the retired performer who’s come to live in their town. But they become…

View original post 312 more words

Comments
  1. Julia Lund says:

    Thanks for reblogging this; I enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

