Empty Goodbyes

Posted: October 20, 2013 in Reblogged

This story that just had to be reblogged. 🙂

West1Jess

Stepping onto the porch, I tipped an imaginary hat to the bereft neighbor standing with Officer Carter, the first on the scene. “Mrs. Claire Whitstine,” I said. “I’m Detective West. Can you tell me what happened?”

“Well, I live across the street,” she waved her hand absently in the direction of her house, then wrapped her arms around herself. “I was coming to check on Dana, I haven’t seen her in three days.” Her eyes glazed over, and she stared at nothing. “I knocked before going in. I called out, but she didn’t answer. When I got to the bedroom at the end of the hall, I saw her lying in bed. So beautiful, so peaceful.” A few more tears escaped.

“Claire, I know this is difficult,” I said, “but I just have a few more questions. Okay?”

She nodded.

“Do you always let yourself into Dana’s house?”

Her brow…

View original post 295 more words

Comments
  1. Jessica West says:

    Thanks again, Karen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

